Download from app store
We have detected that you are using an Ad Blocker.
PracticeUpdate is free to end users but we rely on advertising to fund our site. Please consider supporting PracticeUpdate by whitelisting us in your ad blocker.
We have sent a message to the email address you have provided, . If this email is not correct, please update your settings with your correct address.
The email address you provided during registration, , does not appear to be valid. Please update your settings with a valid address before to continue using PracticeUpdate.
Please provide your AHPRA Number to ensure that you are given the correct level of access to our site.
Kathleen Kobashi MD, FACS

Kathleen C. Kobashi MD, FACS

Head, Section of Urology and Renal Transplantation, Virginia Mason Medical Center, Seattle, Washington

Kathleen Kobashi, MD, FACS, is Head of the Section of Urology and Renal Transplantation at Virginia Mason Medical Center and Director of VM’s Pelvic Floor Center. She received her B.A. at Wellesley College and her M.D. at Hahnemann University in Philadelphia, and completed her urologic residency at the University of California, Irvine followed by a Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery (FPMRS) fellowship at Cedars-Sinai in Los Angeles before joining Virginia Mason in 1999.

In addition to her passion around clinical medicine, Dr. Kobashi is dedicated to research and education of patients and future urologists. She founded the VM FPMRS fellowship in 2003 and a new Urology residency in 2014, for which she serves as the Program Director. She is a Clinical Professor at the University of Washington in Seattle.

Dr. Kobashi has authored more than 100 peer-reviewed articles and book chapters on topics related to urinary incontinence and pelvic prolapse and has been invited faculty on the subject around the globe. She is the Immediate Past President of SUFU (Society for Urodynamics, Female Pelvic Medicine and Urogenital Reconstruction), President-elect for the Western Section AUA, and serves on the American Board of Urology Examination Committee and as the Associate Editor of the new AUA journal, Urology Practice. She received the 2006 Continence Care Champion award from the National Association for Continence, the prestigious Paul Zimskind Award from SUFU in 2010, and a Presidential Citation from the American Urological Association in 2013.