Download from app store
We have detected that you are using an Ad Blocker.
PracticeUpdate is free to end users but we rely on advertising to fund our site. Please consider supporting PracticeUpdate by whitelisting us in your ad blocker.
We have sent a message to the email address you have provided, . If this email is not correct, please update your settings with your correct address.
The email address you provided during registration, , does not appear to be valid. Please update your settings with a valid address before to continue using PracticeUpdate.
Please provide your AHPRA Number to ensure that you are given the correct level of access to our site.
Srdan Verstovsek MD

Srdan Verstovsek MD

Chief, Section for Myeloproliferative Neoplasms, Leukemia Department, Department of Leukemia, Professor, Department of Leukemia, Division of Cancer Medicine, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX

Dr Srdan Verstovsek is a medical oncologist and professor in the Department of Leukemia at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, Texas, USA. He obtained his medical and doctoral degree at the University of Zagreb, Zagreb, Croatia. Dr Verstovsek’s clinical and translational research is focused on understanding the biology of and developing new therapies for myeloproliferative neoplasms (MPNs). He is Director of the Clinical Research Center for MPNs at MD Anderson. He has been principal investigator for more than 50 clinical trials testing novel therapies for patients with MPNs and has published more than 400 peer-reviewed manuscripts. Dr Verstovsek is actively involved with national patient groups and is a frequently invited speaker on MPNs both nationally and internationally. In 2010, he was awarded the Celgene 2010 Young Investigator Award for Clinical Research in Hematology, and in 2011, he was awarded the Distinguished Alumnus Award, Division of Cancer Medicine, MD Anderson. In 2013, Dr Verstovsek was awarded the 7th Annual Irwin H. Krakoff Award for Excellence in Clinical Research by the Division of Cancer Medicine, MD Anderson, and the Distinguished Lecturer Award from the Society of Hematologic Oncology. In 2015, Dr Verstovsek was elected as a member of The American Society for Clinical Investigation in recognition of his contributions as a physician-scientist. In 2017, Dr Verstovsek was awarded the Otis W. and Pearl L. Walters Faculty Achievement Award in Clinical Research by MD Anderson Cancer Center.


Dr. Verstovsek reports the following research support:
  1. Incyte Corporation
  2. Roche
  3. Astrazeneca
  4. Lilly Oncology
  5. NS Pharma
  6. Bristol Myers Squibb
  7. Celgene
  8. Gilead
  9. Seattle Genetics
  10. Promedior
  11. CTI BioPharma Corp.
  12. Galena BioPharma
  13. Pfizer
  14. Genentech
  15. Blueprint Medicines Corp.