Download from app store
We have detected that you are using an Ad Blocker.
PracticeUpdate is free to end users but we rely on advertising to fund our site. Please consider supporting PracticeUpdate by whitelisting us in your ad blocker.
We have sent a message to the email address you have provided, . If this email is not correct, please update your settings with your correct address.
The email address you provided during registration, , does not appear to be valid. Please update your settings with a valid address before to continue using PracticeUpdate.
Please provide your AHPRA Number to ensure that you are given the correct level of access to our site.
Patrick Lyden MD

Patrick D. Lyden MD

Professor of Neurolgy and the Carmen and Louis Warschaw Chair in Neurology, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles, California

Dr. Lyden received his medical training from the Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, followed by internship, neurology residency, and Stroke Fellowship in San Diego. From 1987 to 2009 he was a member of the Neurosciences faculty at UCSD and directed the Stroke Research Center from 1994 to 2009. In 2009 he moved to Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles and founded the Department of Neurology, the Comprehensive Stroke Center, the Neurology Residency, and the Fellowship in Stroke Neurology.

Dr. Lyden is Professor of Neurology and holds the Carmen and Louis Warschaw Chair in Neurology at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center. Dr. Lyden helped lead the pivotal NINDS t-PA for Acute Stroke Trial, the first proven therapy for stroke. He is recognized globally for leadership in stroke therapy, having led large, multi-national trials for NIH and industry. Dr. Lyden is the Principal investigator of the NINDS-sponsored Stroke Preclinical Assessment Network, or SPAN, the first multi-site trial intended to identify candidate treatments likely to succeed in human clinical trials. He is the Chair-Elect of the Stroke Council of the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association. Dr. Lyden has been elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Neurology, American Neurology Association, American Heart Association, and the European Stroke Organization. In 2019 he was awarded the prestigious William M. Feinberg Award for Excellence in Clinical Stroke by the American Heart Association.


Dr. Lyden has no relevant disclosures.

Recent Contributions to PracticeUpdate:

  1. Hyperacute Stroke Management During the COVID-19 Pandemic