Download from app store
We have detected that you are using an Ad Blocker.
PracticeUpdate is free to end users but we rely on advertising to fund our site. Please consider supporting PracticeUpdate by whitelisting us in your ad blocker.
We have sent a message to the email address you have provided, . If this email is not correct, please update your settings with your correct address.
The email address you provided during registration, , does not appear to be valid. Please update your settings with a valid address before to continue using PracticeUpdate.
Please provide your AHPRA Number to ensure that you are given the correct level of access to our site.
Michael Blute Sr., MD

Michael L. Blute Sr., MD

Professor of Urology, Harvard Medical School; Chief of Urology, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts

Dr. Michael L. Blute is currently Chief of the Department of Urology at The Massachusetts General Hospital and the Walter S. Kerr, Jr, Professor of Urology, Harvard Medical School.   Previously Dr. Blute was the Anson L. Clark Professor and Chairman in the Department of Urology, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota.  He remained as Chairman of the Department of Urology and on the Executive Board of the Mayo Clinic until appointed Interim Chief of Urology and Director of the Cancer Center of Excellence at the University of Massachusetts Memorial Medical Center in 2010.  In April 2012 Dr. Blute was appointed Chief of Urology at the Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston.

Dr. Blute has a major interest in urologic oncology and is well-known in the field of academic urology.  His major areas of interest include prostate cancer, nephron-sparing surgery for kidney masses, and the management of complex renal cell and bladder neoplasms.  He serves as a reviewer on 13 editorial boards; he also served on the AUA Renal Mass Guideline Panel and served on the American Joint Committee on Cancer.  He is the recipient of the 2010 AUA Career Contribution Award and the Andrew C. Novick Lecturer and Contribution Award from the Kidney Cancer Association in 2012.  His bibliography includes 368 peer-reviewed publications, one book, and 26 book chapters.