Download from app store
We have detected that you are using an Ad Blocker.
PracticeUpdate is free to end users but we rely on advertising to fund our site. Please consider supporting PracticeUpdate by whitelisting us in your ad blocker.
We have sent a message to the email address you have provided, . If this email is not correct, please update your settings with your correct address.
The email address you provided during registration, , does not appear to be valid. Please update your settings with a valid address before to continue using PracticeUpdate.
Please provide your AHPRA Number to ensure that you are given the correct level of access to our site.
Matthias Blüher MD

Matthias Blüher MD

Professor of Obesity Medicine and Director, Helmholtz Institute for Metabolism, Obesity and Vasculature, Munich, Germany; Faculty of Medicine, University of Leipzig, Leipzig, Germany , Leipzig, Germany

Matthias Blüher is Professor of Obesity Medicine, Director of the Helmholtz Institute for Metabolism, Obesity and Vasculature research at the Helmholtz Center Munich and the University of Leipzig, Germany. He is Speaker of the Collaborative Research Center “Obesity mechanisms” at the University of Leipzig in Leipzig, Germany. Matthias Blüher´s research is focused on the role of adipose tissue function and distribution in insulin resistance, the development of obesity, type 2 diabetes and other metabolic and cardiovascular diseases.

Professor Blüher completed his medical studies at the University of Leipzig and his postdoctoral fellowship at the Joslin Diabetes Centre, Boston, USA. Matthias´ work has been recognised both nationally and internationally, as he is a recipient of the Obesity Research Award of the German Obesity Society 2003, the Ferdinand-Bertram-Prize of the German Diabetes Association 2008, the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD) Rising Star Award (2010), and the Minkowski Prize of the EASD 2015.


Matthias Blüher received honoraria as a consultant and speaker from Amgen, AstraZeneca, Bayer, Boehringer-Ingelheim, Daiichi-Sankyo, Lilly, Novo Nordisk, Novartis, Pfizer and Sanofi.