Download from app store
We have detected that you are using an Ad Blocker.
PracticeUpdate is free to end users but we rely on advertising to fund our site. Please consider supporting PracticeUpdate by whitelisting us in your ad blocker.
We have sent a message to the email address you have provided, . If this email is not correct, please update your settings with your correct address.
The email address you provided during registration, , does not appear to be valid. Please update your settings with a valid address before to continue using PracticeUpdate.
Please provide your AHPRA Number to ensure that you are given the correct level of access to our site.
Larry Goldstein MD, FAAN, FANA, FAHA

Larry B Goldstein MD, FAAN, FANA, FAHA

Ruth L. Works Professor and Chairman, Department of Neurology; Co-Director, Kentucky Neuroscience Institute and UK Neuroscience Research Priority Area; Interim Director, UK-Norton Healthcare Stroke Care Network; University of Kentucky, Lexington, Kentucky

Dr. Goldstein is the Ruth L. Works Professor and Chairman, Department of Neurology and Co-Director of the Kentucky Neuroscience Institute at the University of Kentucky. Dr. Goldstein received his BA degree in 1977 from Brandeis University and MD from Mount Sinai School of Medicine in 1981. His subsequent professional training included internship and neurology residency at Mount Sinai Medical Center, New York (1981-1985) and a research fellowship in cerebrovascular disease at Duke University (1985-1987). Dr. Goldstein advanced at Duke University to the rank of Professor of Neurology and Director of the Duke Stroke Center until moving to the University of Kentucky in 2015.

Dr. Goldstein focuses his clinical, research, educational and service activities on stroke and related disorders. He has published over 740 peer review journal articles, reviews, editorials, book chapters, abstracts, and other professional papers. His research spans stroke-related laboratory-based studies, clinical trials, quality of care and care delivery studies, as well as clinical effectiveness and epidemiological investigations. He serves as a reviewer for numerous professional journals as well as national and international granting agencies. He is a member of the editorial boards of Stroke, Neurology, Cerebrovascular Diseases (Associate Editor), the Journal of Stroke and Cerebrovascular Diseases, and Cardiology Today, and has been an editor for Circulation: Cardiovascular Quality and Outcomes, Emergency Medicine, and Continuum (Editor for Practice, American Academy of Neurology) in addition to several other medical journals. He has chaired or has been a member of national guideline writing committees, including the AHA Guidelines for the Primary Prevention of Stroke, Guidelines for the Prevention of Stroke in Patients with Ischemic Stroke or TIA, Guidelines for Early Management of Ischemic Stroke, and Guidelines for the Primary Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease. He served as Chair of the American Stroke Association Advisory Committee (2002-2004), the Leadership Committee of the AHA Stroke Council (2005-2007) and the Stroke Council’s Long Range Planning Committee (2007-2009). He has been a member of the AAN Quality Standards Subcommittee (2005-2007), the Practice Committee (2007-2015) the Stroke Systems Work Group (2007-2017), the Education Committee (2017-), the Joint Audit Committee (2017-), Neurology Chair’s Workgroup (2018-), Health Policy Subcommittee (2019-), and an AAN Media Expert (2019-) He also served on the first examination writing committee for certification in Vascular Neurology for the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (2003-2010). He has been a member of the Board of Directors of the American Heart Association (2002-2004, 2008-2011), and the AHA’s Science Advisory Coordinating Committee (2002-2004, 2005-2007), Administrative Cabinet (2008-2010), Manuscript Oversight Committee (2005-2007), Council Operations Committee (2004-2006) and the Program Committee of the AHA International Stroke Conference (2006 - 2007, 2009-2011). He has also served on the AHA’s Advocacy Coordinating Committee (Chair, 2008-2010), Population Science and Public Policy Committees, the Prevention Advisory Board of the National Stroke Association, and is a member of the AHA National Spokesperson panel. He was a member of the Operations Committee for the VA Stroke Quality Improvement program, and was appointed to the FDA Peripheral and Central Nervous System Advisory Committee (2005-2009; 2014-2019) and served as advisor or panel member for several other FDA committees in addition to the CMS Medicare Evidence Development & Coverage Advisory Committee (MEDCAC, 2013-2015), and as a member of the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) Advisory Committee. He was elected as a Counselor for the Association of University Professors of Neurology (2018-2021). In North Carolina, he was a member of the Board of Directors of the AHA’s Mid-Atlantic Affiliate (2001- 2010; President 2007-2009), chaired the AHA’s Operation Stroke for the Triangle Area in North Carolina (2001-2004), and was a member of the North Carolina Legislature’s Stroke Advisory Council (2006-2015). On moving to the University of Kentucky, he became a Board Member of the AHA Great Rivers Affiliate (2017-2019) followed by the Midwest Affiliate (2019-present).

Dr. Goldstein received the G. Milton Shy Award from the American Academy of Neurology (1979), the Sara Bender Prize in Clinical Neurology (1980), the Duke Neurology Housestaff Teaching Award (1992, 2005), was elected to the American Neurological Association (1998), was awarded the Saul J. Horowitz Distinguished Alumnus Award from Mount Sinai School of Medicine (2004), the Chairman’s Award from the American Heart Association (2004), was the AHA National Volunteer Advocate of the Year (2005), received the Leadership Award from the AHA Stroke Council (2007), the AHA Award for Meritorious Achievement (2007), and was the William Feinberg Award for Excellence in Clinical Stroke recipient and lecturer at the 2009 International Stroke Conference (American Heart Association). He was awarded the Order of the Long Leaf Pine, North Carolina’s highest civilian honor, by the governor in 2015 for his service to the state related to improving stroke care. In 2019, he received the Mentorship Award from the Women in Medicine and Science program at the UK College of Medicine.


Dr. Goldstein was a member of the SPARCL Steering Committee that was supported by Pfizer. This investigator-initiated analysis was conducted with the help of the sponsor, but without financial support.