Download from app store
We have detected that you are using an Ad Blocker.
PracticeUpdate is free to end users but we rely on advertising to fund our site. Please consider supporting PracticeUpdate by whitelisting us in your ad blocker.
We have sent a message to the email address you have provided, . If this email is not correct, please update your settings with your correct address.
The email address you provided during registration, , does not appear to be valid. Please update your settings with a valid address before to continue using PracticeUpdate.
Please provide your AHPRA Number to ensure that you are given the correct level of access to our site.
Kevin McVary MD, FACS

Kevin T. McVary MD, FACS

Chair of the Division of Urology and Professor at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine in Springfield, Illinois.

Dr. Kevin T. McVary graduated with distinction from Northwestern University, received his M.D. degree from Northwestern Medical School and completed a two year program in general surgery at Northwestern University and Northwestern Memorial Hospital.  A four year urology training program followed.  This included a one year urology research fellowship as the Urology Research Fellow investigating neural influences on sexual reflexes. In addition, he was granted a Riba Urology Research Fellowship under the direction of Chung Lee, Ph.D. at Northwestern. Dr. McVary joined the staff at Northwestern Memorial Hospital and was a Professor of Urology at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine for 23 years. He served as the Director of the Center for Sexual Health at Northwestern Memorial Hospital, conducted the Prostate Diseases Minimally Invasive Program, and was Director of the Andrology Fellowship Program at Northwestern Memorial Hospital.  In 2013 he was named the Chairman of Urology at the Southern Illinois University School of Medicine located in Springfield, IL, his hometown.

His primary clinical areas include prostate diseases including prostate cancer and BPH as well as the evaluation and treatment of sexual function. Dr. McVary has had an extensive experience conducting clinical trials for the National Institute and Health and numerous private and industry foundations.

Dr McVary is the Chairman of the AUA BPH Clinical Guidelines Committee, the Co-Chair of the International Consultation on Male LUTS and is the Associate Editor of the Journal of Urology. He has been named Chairman of the Special Emphasis Urology Study Section for the NIDDK. He is Co-Chairman of the Clinical Section of the NIDDK Strategic Pathway for Prostate Basic and Clinical Science.  He has also completed a 4 year stint on the American Board of Urology Exam Committee.  He is the AUA Honorary Speaker at the European Association of Urology (EAU) chosen by EAU members as well as the SMSNA Honorary Speaker chosen by the European Sexual Medicine Society (ESSM) membership. He was named a Sommer Lecturer at the University of Oregon 2008. 

A experienced investigator in prostatic disorders and erectile dysfunction (ED), Dr. McVary is currently and has recently been principal investigator for more than 75 clinical trials. Dr. McVary’s research has generated more than 400 publications including refereed journal articles, books, book chapters, and abstracts. His work has appeared in prominent journals such as the Journal of Urology, Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA), New England Journal of Medicine, International Journal of Impotence Research, and Urology.  Among his editorial responsibilities are consultant for the Journal of Andrology, Journal of Urology, Urology, Journal of Investigative Urology, Current Opinion in Urology, Prostate Diseases, and book reviewer for the Journal of Urology. A Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and Diplomat of the American Urological Association, Dr. McVary is also an active member of many other organizations.