Download from app store
We have detected that you are using an Ad Blocker.
PracticeUpdate is free to end users but we rely on advertising to fund our site. Please consider supporting PracticeUpdate by whitelisting us in your ad blocker.
We have sent a message to the email address you have provided, . If this email is not correct, please update your settings with your correct address.
The email address you provided during registration, , does not appear to be valid. Please update your settings with a valid address before to continue using PracticeUpdate.
Please provide your AHPRA Number to ensure that you are given the correct level of access to our site.
Jose Suarez MD, FNCS, FANA

Jose I. Suarez MD, FNCS, FANA

Professor of Neurology, Neurosurgery, Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine; Division Chief, Neurocritical Care, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland; Past President, Neurocritical Care Society; Founding and Past Chair, Neurocritical Care Research Network (NCRN)

Dr. Suarez has authored or co-authored over 200 publications in the areas of stroke and critical care neurology and neurosurgery. He is a member of the Editorial Board of Stroke. He is also a member of the Board of Directors and Past President of the Neurocritical Care Society. Dr. Suarez areas of research interest include subarachnoid hemorrhage, acute ischemic stroke, cerebral edema, and outcomes in neurocritical care. Dr. Suarez was the PI for the NINDS-funded ALISAH Multicenter Pilot Study and is the PI for the ALISAH II International Multicenter Phase II clinical trial. Dr. Suarez also has been of the Executive Committee for the NINDS-funded ATACH II Trial. Dr. Suarez was the founder of the Neurocritical Care Research Network (NCRN), which is composed of 260 neurocritical care units and investigators from 47 centers and have recently completed the PRINCE Study, the first observational study investigating the practice of neurocritical care.


Dr. Suarez reports the following:
  • Member of the Editorial Board of Stroke
  • Chair of the DSMB for the INTREPID Study funded by BARD
  • Member of the CEC for the REACT Study funded by Idorsia