Download from app store
We have detected that you are using an Ad Blocker.
PracticeUpdate is free to end users but we rely on advertising to fund our site. Please consider supporting PracticeUpdate by whitelisting us in your ad blocker.
We have sent a message to the email address you have provided, . If this email is not correct, please update your settings with your correct address.
The email address you provided during registration, , does not appear to be valid. Please update your settings with a valid address before to continue using PracticeUpdate.
Please provide your AHPRA Number to ensure that you are given the correct level of access to our site.
J Wolf, Jr. MD, FACS

J Stuart Wolf, Jr. MD, FACS

Associate Chair of Clinical Integration and Operations and Chief, Division of Surgical Specialties, Department of Surgery and Perioperative Care, Dell Medical School of the University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas

After receiving his M.D. from Northwestern University, Dr. Wolf completed urology residency at UCSF and then an Endourology / Laparoscopy Fellowship with Ralph Clayman. He joined the University of Michigan in 1996, and over the ensuing 20 years he served as the Director of the Division of Endourology, the Director of the Endourology / Laparoscopy Fellowship, and the Associate Urology Department Chair for Surgical Services. In 2016, he assumed his current role as Associate Chair for Clinical Integration and Operations, and Chief of the Division of Surgical Specialties, in the Department of Surgery and Perioperative Care at Dell Medical School of the University of Texas at Austin.

Dr. Wolf has served on the Boards of Directors of the Michigan Urologic Society, the Endourological Society, and the Society of Academic Urologists. He currently sits on the Board of Directors of the Texas Urological Society. He chaired the American Urological Association (AUA) Practice Guidelines Committee, and was the inaugural chair of the AUA Science & Quality Council. At the University of Michigan, Dr. Wolf received the Silver Cystoscope Award for Urology Residency Teaching Excellence 3 times (1999, 2002 and 2005). He was appointed the inaugural David A. Bloom Professor of Urology in 2006. The Department of Urology awarded him the Faculty Service Award in 2011 and the Outstanding Achievement Award in 2012. He was inducted into the League of Educational Excellence of the University of Michigan Medical School in 2015, and that year he also received the inaugural Program Director’s Award from the Endourological Society and was the Malcolm Coptcoat Lecturer for The British Association of Urologic Surgeons. In 2010, Dr. Wolf was elected to the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons. In 2018, he started a 6-year term as a Trustee of the American Board of Urology. In 2019, Dr. Wolf received a Distinguished Service Award from the AUA.

An author of over 300 peer-reviewed articles and videos, and over 150 invited publications, Dr. Wolf has served on the editorial boards of 11 journals. His scholarly work has been recognized by awards and/or research grants from the American Foundation for Urologic Disease, the Department of Veterans Affairs, the Endourological Society, the American Society of Transplant Surgeons, and the AUA and 2 of its Sections.