Download from app store
We have detected that you are using an Ad Blocker.
PracticeUpdate is free to end users but we rely on advertising to fund our site. Please consider supporting PracticeUpdate by whitelisting us in your ad blocker.
We have sent a message to the email address you have provided, . If this email is not correct, please update your settings with your correct address.
The email address you provided during registration, , does not appear to be valid. Please update your settings with a valid address before to continue using PracticeUpdate.
Please provide your AHPRA Number to ensure that you are given the correct level of access to our site.
Gyongyi Szabo MD, PhD, FAASLD, AGAF, FACP

Gyongyi Szabo MD, PhD, FAASLD, AGAF, FACP

Mitchell Rabkin, MD Chair, Professor of Medicine and Faculty Dean for Academic Affairs, Harvard Medical School; Chief Academic Officer of Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Beth Israel Lahey Health, Boston, Massachusetts

Gyongyi Szabo, MD, PhD, is the Mitchell T. Rabkin, M.D. Chair, Professor of Medicine and Faculty Dean at Harvard Medical School and Chief Academic Officer of the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and the Beth Israel Lahey Health System. Her laboratory studies the cellular and molecular mechanisms of inflammation and innate immunity in liver injury to identify therapeutic targets focused on non-alcoholic liver disease, NASH and alcoholic liver disease. Her investigations recently revealed the importance of micro-RNAs and extracellular vesicles in liver diseases. Dr. Szabo’s group made the novel discovery that NLRP3 activation and the IL-1ß pathway are potential therapeutic targets in alcoholic hepatitis and NASH. Her translational studies with the use of IL-1 receptor antagonist provided basis for first-time clinical trials in alcoholic hepatitis with IL-1 inhibition. Dr. Szabo has mentored over 50 trainees in research, particularly clinician scientists. She is member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Past President of the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases (AASLD) and the inaugural Editor-in-Chief of Hepatology Communications.