Download from app store
We have detected that you are using an Ad Blocker.
PracticeUpdate is free to end users but we rely on advertising to fund our site. Please consider supporting PracticeUpdate by whitelisting us in your ad blocker.
We have sent a message to the email address you have provided, . If this email is not correct, please update your settings with your correct address.
The email address you provided during registration, , does not appear to be valid. Please update your settings with a valid address before to continue using PracticeUpdate.
Please provide your AHPRA Number to ensure that you are given the correct level of access to our site.
Günter Breithardt MD

Günter Breithardt MD

Professor Emeritus of Medicine and Cardiology; Previous Head of the Department of Cardiology and Angiology, University Hospital Münster; Previous Director of the Department of Molecular Cardiology, Leibniz Institute for Arteriosclerosis Research at the Westfälische Wilhelms University of Münster, Münster, Germany

Günter Breithardt, MD, EFESC, FACC, FHRS, FEHRA, Professor Emer., University of Münster, Germany, Head of the Department of Cardiology and Angiology, and Director of Molecular Cardiology, Leibniz-Institute Arteriosclerosis Research until 2009. Co-founder of the Atrial Fibrillation Network (AFNET) and chairman of its Board 2003-15. President of the European Society of Cardiology (ESC, 1996-1998) and President of the German Cardiac Society (GCS, 1999-2001). Chairman of the Working Group on Arrhythmias of the ESC, and of the Special Collaborative Research Programme of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft SFB 556 “Heart Failure and Arrhythmias, from Molecular Basis to Clinical Management”. Member of international advisory committees and of research reviewing panels; actively involved in national and international clinical trials. Honorary member of the Polish, French and the Norwegian Cardiac Societies, Fellow of ESC, ACC, HRS, and EHRA. Visiting Professor of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences and Art to the Netherlands Heart Institute. Recipient of the Edens-Award, University of Düsseldorf, the Arthur-Weber-Award of the GCS, the Carl-Ludwig Honorary Medal of the GCS, the Outstanding Achievement Award of the European Cardiac Arrhythmia Society, the Werner-Forßmann Prize for his life work, and the Gertrud-Spitz-Award of the German Heart Foundation and the GCS. As of 2017, chairman of the ESC Ethics Committee. In November 2019, appointment as Honorary Member of the Royal Catalan Academy of Medicine.


Dr. Breithardt has no relevant disclosures.