We have detected that you are using an Ad Blocker.
PracticeUpdate is free to end users but we rely on advertising to fund our site. Please consider supporting PracticeUpdate by whitelisting us in your ad blocker.
We have sent a message to the email address you have provided, . If this email is not correct, please update your settings with your correct address.
The email address you provided during registration, , does not appear to be valid. Please update your settings with a valid address before to continue using PracticeUpdate.
Please provide your AHPRA Number to ensure that you are given the correct level of access to our site.
Dirk Elston

Dirk M. Elston MD, FAAD, FACP

Professor and Chair, Department of Dermatology and Dermatolgic Surgery, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, South Carolina

Dr. Elston is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Dermatology and Dermatologic Surgery at the Medical University of South Carolina, in Charleston. He is a past-president of the American Academy of Dermatology and the American Society of Dermatopathology, has served on the board of directors of the International Society of Dermatopathology and the American Board of Dermatology, and serves as the Editor of the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology. He is an Honorary Professor at China Medical University in Shenyang China and Guest Professor at the Xiangya School of Medicine, Central South University in Changsha, China, and is an honorary member of the German Society of Dermatology. He was a Clinical Professor of Dermatology at the Robert Wood Johnson School of Medicine of Rutgers University.

Dr. Elston is a graduate of Jefferson Medical College, did his dermatology residency at Walter Reed Medical Center and a dermatopathology fellowship at the Cleveland Clinic.  He is the author of over 400 peer reviewed publications, is one of 3 authors of Andrews Diseases of the Skin, Associate Editor in Chief of eMedicine dermatology, and Editor in Chief of the Requisites in Dermatology series of textbooks.  He received the 2008 Walter Nickel Award for Excellence in Dermatopathology Education and the 2013 Founder’s Award of the American Society of Dermatopathology.  The first edition of his dermatopathology textbook, written together with Tammie Ferringer, received the Highly Commended Award in the British Medical Association Medical Book competition. The third edition is now in press.